To the Midnight Genius Gremlin

19 credit hours are kicking my tokus.  I’m living on coffee and post-it notes.  My office looks like notebooks and text books have exploded everywhere.  I have German vocabulary strewn about on every visible vertical surface odd bits of computer code on post its hanging off of bookshelves.  Physics equations take up any other free vertical space and derivation laws are on as many horizontal surfaces as I can find (including my floor).  This is what happens in the middle of the semester.  I end up with a crazed study pattern that only makes sense to me.  I also go through phases where I will not be able to do anything during the day, and I usually hit my “genius” at midnight and work until four in the morning.  Having an 8:30 class isn’t conducive to this way of studying.  I paid the price this past weekend, throwing off my sleep schedule.  It took me until today (Friday) to feel as though I am normal again (minus the madness in my office).  I am the person who loses track of time when studying or doing homework.  I don’t eat, forget to hydrate, etc.  I get obsessive when I am in “the zone”.  I know it worries my husband and he tries to make sure I go to bed or eat.  I know I’m not the only person who is like this.  So here’s a shout out to all the people working late into the night obsessively trying to make sense of the madness strewn about your room and also a shout out to the friends and family that make sure we have that extra cup of coffee, glass of water, or study snacks to feed our genius gremlins.

Leave a Reply

